Sermon Archive


Welcome to our Sermon Archive!  We've been recording the sermons from our 11am Morning Praise services since Spring '18.  All of the sermons can be found below and are in date order with the most recent first.  You can either stream the sermons online or download to play later - simply click the sermon title for either option.
 
Sunday 8th December 2019
Steve Morgan
Third part in our exploration of what it means to be church and what being a member of a church looks like.
Sunday 1st December 2019
Steve Morgan
Second part in our exploration of what it means to be church and what being a member of a church looks like.
Sunday 10th November 2019
David White
David White was guest speaker at Praise & Worship on Remembrance Sunday. He spoke on the theme of remembrance from Psalm 103.
Sunday 3rd November 2019
David Hazlewood
The story of our faith is often one of conflict - all the disciples were executed for their faith, and this continues today. David explores the area of prayer where we fight back against the powers that want to destroy our faith. Spiritual warfare is not against people. Spiritual warfare is about prayer.
Sunday 27th October 2019
Steve Morgan
Sometimes God seems silent but he isn't - his voice can always be heard through the Bible. When we make time to hear God's voice he is there. Steve encourages us to take time each day to be quiet in God's presence to hear His voice.
Sunday 20th October 2019
Ron Bennett
Ron shares his thoughts quiet prayer and being still in God's presence. He encourages us to give this a go, to find a quiet space in which to meet with God.
Sunday 13th October 2019
Steve Morgan
When our prayers seem to go unanswered are we asking the right question when we ask why? May be we should instead be asking who is God. In the Narnia books Lucy is reminded that Aslan is not a tame lion but he is good. We should be looking to the spiritual realms for answers to our physical problems.
Sunday 6th October 2019
Phil Aindow
Phil shares his thoughts on prayer.
Sunday 29th September 2019
Phil Aindow
We start to get into the Lord's prayer this week. Phil unpacks what it means to give adoration and worship to God from the first line of the Lord's Prayer - Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name.
Sunday 22nd September 2019
Steve Morgan
The first in an eight week series on Prayer following The Prayer Course in housegroups. Steve explores how sometimes it seems that God is silent and uses the story of Esther in the Old Testament to help us understand this.
Sunday 15th September 2019
Philip Mountstephen
Bishop Philip introduces Transforming Mission and commissions St Martins at the start of our journey.
Sunday 15th September 2019
Steve Morgan
Part 4 of our series on Joel. Steve brings it altogether and encourages us to go out with the good news of the gospel to make disciples.
Sunday 8th September 2019
Phil Aindow
Phil leads us through these powerful verses from Joel which take us to the beginning of the early church and demonstrate the pouring out of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost.
Sunday 1st September 2019
Ron Bennett
Ron shows how judgement and mercy go together. This is salvation - Jesus on the cross taking our sins - judgement and grace.
Sunday 25th August 2019
Rachael Pryor
The first part of a four part series on Joel. How did God's people respond to the devastation of a plague of locusts and what can this teach us thousands of years later?
Sunday 18th August 2019
David Hazlewood
David guides us through Jesus teaching from Luke 12.
Sunday 11th August 2019
Philip Aindow
Phil, our new curate, explores the idea of faith and how we have faith in God.
Sunday 4th August 2019
David White
It's not the type of container that is important it is what is inside that matters - Christ lives in us.
Sunday 28th July 2019
Ron Bennett
Ron explores the story which follows Jesus' teaching on prayer in Luke 11. Jesus tells us to ask, seek and knock, and God will answer. We can be bold in prayer and have confidence in God.
Sunday 21st July 2019
Steve Morgan
In the fourth of the Presence series Steve lifts the lid on how the church is God's tool on earth and should be Alive. We should let our light shine out as the church of God and bless our community so that everyone will know we are God's disciples and they will want to join us.
Sunday 14th July 2019
Mark Davey
What will heaven be like? Mark, from Light & Life Church in Liskeard, explores the presence of God into eternity
Sunday 7th July 2019
Jim Hillier from Grace Church
The presence of God for other people. How we are taking the presence of God into the places where we work and where we meet other people. From the passage from 2 Corinthians Jim explores how we are an aroma and a letter for Christ.
Sunday 30th June 2019
Jordan Russell from Greenbank
Jordan Russell from Greenbank shares about God’s presence, how it has no limits, He can be everywhere all of the time. We need to look to the one who never changes, whose presence is always there. If we draw near to God he will draw near to us. Apologies that the beginning of the recording is missing.
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Ron Bennett
Stories, especially true stories, convey to us important truths. They often sow the seeds of the gospel. Ron shares with us the truths from a story in Jesus life and how telling our story can be a powerful witness.
Sunday 16th June 2019
Laura (ordinand)
Laura, who is on placement with St Martin's as part of her ordinand training, opens up the story of the prodigal son for Father's Day.
Sunday 9th June 2019
Krish Kandiah
God's good future for us and his love for us. What does it mean for us to receive God's Spirit of adoption, to know that we belong to God's family.
Sunday 9th June 2019
Krish Kandiah
Krish Kandiah speaks at the morning celebration of Thy Kingdom Come beacon event at St Martin's. He explores the greatest prayer - The Lord's Prayer, and how we respond today to those words spoken by Jesus two thousand years ago.
Sunday 2nd June 2019
Steve Morgan
Steve speaks from Matthew 16:13-19 on the rock on which the church is built and how we can show that to our community.
Monday 27th May 2019
Steve Morgan
We all, like the disciples, have a desire to grow and learn and change. We all follow something or someone in life. As Christians our challenge is to show that Jesus is the ultimate answer.
Sunday 19th May 2019
Steve Morgan
A look at the Parable of the Talents and how it can apply to our lives.
Sunday 5th May 2019
David Hazlewood
Jesus takes charge, Jesus provides, Jesus restores.
Sunday 28th April 2019
Chris Ramaglia
A look at our identity and purpose in Christ and how the two are closely connected. Chris works for Pioneers and is a missionary.
Sunday 21st April 2019
Steve Morgan
Steve's sermon from the combined Easter Day service.
Sunday 14th April 2019
Steve Morgan
Sermon from the evening Praise Service on Palm Sunday.
Sunday 14th April 2019
Ron Bennett
The final part of the Talking Jesus course - how do we go on talking about Jesus in our lives, how do we make the most of every opportunity.
Sunday 7th April 2019
David Hazlewood
What is God's story that we want to tell our friends about?
Sunday 31st March 2019
Ron Bennett
Part 4 in the sermon series running alongside the Talking Jesus course being studied in housegroups.
Sunday 24th March 2019
Steve Morgan
How can we be salt and light for Jesus in our lives?
Sunday 17th March 2019
Steve Morgan
Worship - when we meet with Jesus, we experience him and have a glimpse of his glory.
Sunday 10th March 2019
David Hazlewood
The first sermon in the series following the course Talking Jesus. The course is being followed by housegroups. David challenges us to change the conversation, to make a conscious decision to talk about Jesus.
Sunday 3rd March 2019
Ron Bennett
A look at the wisdom of God from Paul's writing to the church in Corinth
Sunday 24th February 2019
David White
To know the love of Christ even though it cannot be fully known because it surpasses knowledge.
Sunday 17th February 2019
David White
Jesus tore down divisions between people and between God and his people. God does not want to keep his distance from us. How should this change how we do church?
Sunday 10th February 2019
David White
Three questions we ask: what is wrong with the world? What is wrong with people? What is wrong with me? This passage is Paul's diagnosis, prognosis and prescription for our lives and our church.
Sunday 3rd February 2019
David White
The third part of our examination of the church through the lens of Paul's letter to the Ephesians.
Sunday 27th January 2019
David White
The second part of our look at Ephesians and what that shows us about God's plan for his church today.
Sunday 20th January 2019
David White
Beginning a six week look at Ephesians and what that teaches us about our church today.
Sunday 13th January 2019
Mike Sturgess
A presentation of the vision for the growth of St Martin's church in the next few years.
Sunday 6th January 2019
Steve Morgan
Darkness and light through the story of the escape to Egypt and Herod's murder of the children.
Sunday 30th December 2018
Sheri Sturgess
Looking further ahead to when Jesus was 12 years old and the family visited Jerusalem
Sunday 23rd December 2018
David Hazlewood
A look at Mary and Elizabeth in the run up the the birth of Jesus Christ.
Sunday 16th December 2018
David White
The birth of John the Baptist
Sunday 9th December 2018
Steve Morgan
Revelation shows the power, enormity and might of God, God who chose to make himself known to us in a display of love and sacrifice.
Sunday 2nd December 2018
David White
How does the church of the New Testament, as described in Acts, compare to church today.
Sunday 25th November 2018
Steve Morgan
Christ the King - the Sunday before Advent. A look at who is 'Christ the King' through the story of Jesus calming the storm.
Sunday 18th November 2018
Steve Morgan
A look at Old Testament prophecy and what prophecy means for us today.
Sunday 4th November 2018
David Hazelwood
The revelation of God's name and his identification of himself as the God who saves. Yahweh is the one who rescues us from the things that enslave us.
Sunday 28th October 2018
David Pollard
Exploring God's call to Abraham and God's covenant with Abraham. How do we discern God's call on our lives today. Apologies, this is quiet recording.
Sunday 21st October 2018
Steve Morgan
The first in the new series linked to The Bible Course produced by The Bible Society which is being studied in housegroups at St Martins.
Sunday 14th October 2018
Steve Morgan
How do we live so that our lives show that this is true.
Sunday 7th October 2018
Ron Bennett
Talk from harvest service
Sunday 7th October 2018
Steve Morgan
It's not about the group of people you belong to but how you respond to God's message.
Sunday 30th September 2018
Pete Morgan
Sermon from the Praise Service
Sunday 30th September 2018
Steve Morgan
Sermon from Benefice communion service
Sunday 23rd September 2018
Steve Morgan
Speaking from Daniel 6, Steve challenges us on whether we are giving God our all and if we are prepared for whatever tomorrow may bring.
Sunday 9th September 2018
Chris Goldsmith / Steve Morgan
Marking the reopening and re dedication of St Martin's Church, Bishop Chris and Steve Morgan share passionately about the power of God's unshakeable love and the command to share it with the community.
Sunday 2nd September 2018
Ron Bennett
Ron shares from Mark 7, challenging us on our heart attitudes, reminding us that these are far more important to God than our traditions and outward things.
Sunday 26th August 2018
Ron Bennett
Sharing from Paul's letter to the Ephesian Church, Ron reminds us of the realities of being in a spiritual battle and both challenges and encourages us to be alert, equipped and empowered on the battlefield.
Sunday 19th August 2018
David Hazlewood
Speaking from Ephesians 5, David shares Paul's challenge to live lives that demonstrate the validity of our faith to a watching world.
Sunday 12th August 2018
Steve Morgan
Challenging us not to have a 'pick and mix' faith, Steve speaks from Jonah 3 and encourages us to ask ourselves if we, too, are living our lives on the run from God's presence and purpose as Jonah did.
Sunday 5th August 2018
Steve Morgan
Steve shares from Deuteronomy what the feast of First Fruits means for us today.
Sunday 8th July 2018
Steve Morgan
As he closes the "God's Bounty: Our Response" sermon series, Steve shares with us the "secret of contentment" that Paul spoke of in Philippians and how we can apply this in our living and giving.
Sunday 1st July 2018
Ron Bennett
What do Unity, Generosity, Animosity, Electricity and Multiplicity have in common? Ron unfolds Acts 4:32-37 to reveal the connection...
Sunday 17th June 2018
Steve Morgan
Steve shares from Corinthians on how the opportunity to give to both the poor and the church is a gift and encourages us, as Paul did the Corinthians, to be joyful givers.
Sunday 10th June 2018
Steve Morgan
Steve shares a thought-provoking and challenging message on how we ought to be responding to God's goodness and bounty.
Sunday 3rd June 2018
David Hazlewood
Join us as we begin our series looking at 'God's Bounty: Our Response'! David launches the series by studying the generosity of God and challenging us to live with hands that are open to give and receive.
Sunday 27th May 2018
Steve Morgan
Steve explains the importance of unity within the Church.
Sunday 20th May 2018
David White
David White challenges us with what Pentecost means for us today.
Sunday 13th May 2018
Steve Morgan
Steve explores the connection between what we consider to be 'home' and the Holy Spirit
Sunday 6th May 2018
Ron Bennett
In Isaiah 55 we see the greatest invitation ever issued, with far-reaching implications. Ron tells us more...
Sunday 29th April 2018
Malcolm Griffiths
Visiting speaker Malcolm Griffiths shares thoughts on how we can share the love of Jesus in our community.
Sunday 29th April 2018
David Hazlewood
David unfolds Acts 17:22-31, addressing the question, "what right does God have to 'command all people everywhere'?"
Sunday 22nd April 2018
Steve Morgan
Steve shares what it means to be called a Christian and challenges us to live our lives in allegiance to Christ.
Sunday 21st January 2018
David White
David White shares four foundational truths to encourage and aid us in our prayer lives - and our relationships with God.
Sunday 17th November 2013
Archbishop Justin Welby
Archbishop Justin Welby visits St Martin's Church with a challenge for us to love and bless our community.